If Tomorrow Never Comes!

Posted: June 16, 2010 in Story
Tags: , , , ,

Place: Hostel

Time: 12 at night

Hostelites are packing their bags.

2 breaks silence and says ‘I never knew I had so many things in the room. Need 2 more cartons to take everything home.’

1: Are you planning to take tubelights and fans?

Girls laugh for a while and then reduce to tears.

3: This is going to change. I hate change and pain. It hurts like hell.

Silence continues.

4: Have a cup of cappuccino. Last one.

4 passes coffee mugs to 2 and 3.

2: I want to have it tomorrow morning.

4 shows empty box and says ‘It’s over.’

3: Miss those times when we talked nothing but bullshit sitting near window, gazing at moonlit sky and slowly sipping steaming hot cappuccino and mocha.

2: I forgot I have exams tomorrow. Final touch to goddamn project.

3: External has to be either dumb to listen to our crap or very smart to hold us upside down.

2: It’s not nice when friends are done with exams and we haven’t. Chalta hein.

1: You are talking like dumbasses.

4: Hey whose eyeshadows are these? Love these colors. I’m trying this out.

1: This lady also has blue and green nail polish. She had it on her nails for a week just to show how much she supports ‘Go Green.’

2: Nonsense. I love these colors. Ain’t it trendy?

1: Do you have feminine colors like pink or purple.

2: Feminine? Guys don’t wear nail paint!

4: Isn’t that general classification, trendy or not so trendy.

3: Screw you all. We’ve our project evals tomorrow.

2: Hey when are we packing our bags? I think people will leave one by one and we won’t get time to pack.

4: Hey my train’s at 5. I’m leaving at 2. Don’t make me the last one. I don’t want to cry a river saying bye to you all.

1: Like we’ll do it.

4: I know but still. If tomorrow never comes.

3: Enough is enough. We’re leaving together.

2: We’ll be here by 11.

Talk continues.

Time: 8:20 a.m

1 and 4 are still sleeping.

2 and 3 leave for exam.

4 wakes up and gets ready to go out.

4: Hey, I’m going out to meet some of my friends. Are you coming.

1: You move. My head is aching.

4: Do you want anything?

1: No, I’ll sleep for a while.

4: Okay, then take care, bye.

Time: 12’o clock

2 and 3 meet 4.

4: How was it?

3: It was decent. External didn’t understand anything. Internal was sweet.

2: Done. I’m going to miss this place and people here.

3: Hey, I won’t miss you all. It’s only some people whom I’ll miss, people whom I won’t get to see again.

3: Stop glaring. It was a joke I meant we’ll keep in touch. I’m sure we’ll.

4: Hey come to my place. We can have loads and loads of fun.

2, 3 and 4 reach hostel.

4: Oh forgot, she had headache in the morning. I hope she’s fine now.

3 goes ahead, enters the room and comes out stunned.

2: What’s the matter?

3: She left. She left without telling us.

4: Why did she do this? I’ll call her up. It’s ringing. She didn’t receive.

2: I can’t believe this.

Discussion goes on.

1: Hey, how was your evals?

2, 3 and  4 hug 1 and say, ‘Idiot, where were you?’

2: We thought you left without telling us.

3: We were shocked to see your things disappeared from the room.

1: Allow me to speak. My vehicle came early and they could not wait longer. So I sent my baggage. We’re leaving together. That’s all.

4: Why didn’t you pick our call?

1: I forgot to take my phone, left it in room in silent mode. There it is, andhe log!

3: Even if you had left, you’d have to come back for it. Isn’t it?

Girls smile but tears roll down.

Note: People should stay in hostel at least once to understand hostel life. I had great time in hostel. Thank everybody who made hostel such a beautiful place. Special thanks to Anu, Muddu, Nikki, Shab and Sips. I’ll never get friends like you all.

Comments
  1. djd says:

    Iam a Die hard ruskin bond fan now.I would have loved the story if she left without Saying u ppl.But still a very good story.

  2. anusha says:

    dear… nice one….. we’ll also never get a friend lyk u dear 🙂

  3. Manasa says:

    good one 🙂

  4. shabnoor says:

    heyyy…. nice story..!! remebered de old days back…………….. 😦 ;( miss u alot my dear fren…, v ll also neva get a fren lik u…………… 🙂 miss u n de hostel life.. 😀

Leave a comment